(AP Photo/Elise Amendola)

2020 Democratic debates announced

NBC details how it will divvy up candidates

June 14, 2019 - 1:13 pm

WASHINGTON (AP) —  NBC has announced how it will divvy up the 20 Democratic candidates for the first debate of the 2020 election campaign, which will be held over two nights in Miami later this month.

The lineup for the first two-hour session on June 26 features Elizabeth Warren, Cory Booker, Beto (BET'-oh) O'Rourke, Amy Klobuchar (KLOH'-buh-shar), Julián Castro, Bill de Blasio (dih BLAH'-zee-oh), John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Tim Ryan and Jay Inslee.

The lineup for the next night features Bernie Sanders, Kamala (KAH'-mah-lah) Harris, Joe Biden, Pete Buttigieg (BOO'-tuh-juhj), Michael Bennet, Marianne Williamson, Eric Swalwell, Kirsten Gillibrand (KEER'-sten JIHL'-uh-brand), Andrew Yang and John Hickenlooper.

The Democratic National Committee says it divided the candidates at random but ensured that contenders considered front-runners would not be stacked on one night to avoid the impression that one night was more important than the other.