Getty Images

Florida Governor Outlaws Sanctuary Cities In The State

Jeff Katz
June 16, 2019 - 2:44 pm

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis (R) promised during his campiagn that he would make a stand against foolish and dangerous policies that promote illegal immigration. Friday, he made good on that promise, signing into law a bill banning sanctuary cities in his state.

He shared his decision on Twitter:

Both chambers passed the bill (SB 168) on May 2. It passed in the Senate 22-18 and House 68-45 after much deliberation and despite opposition from immigration activist groups.

The law prohibits local governments from implementing sanctuary city policies and requires them to “honor federal ‘immigration detainer’ requests,” according to the Miami Herald. 

Florida joins several other states that have implemented similar policies. Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Iowa, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Tennessee and Texas have all passed legislation requiring state and local law enforcement to cooperate with ICE.